Weight Training

Friday is always weights day for me.

As a women, I used to be cautious of weight training. I was worried about building up too much muscle.

I reasoned that muscle sits under fat and building up muscle would be wasted effort because the muscle would be hidden under the fat. I thought that it would be far better to just concentrate on losing the fat.

Well to a certain extent that is true. When I was 15 kgs overweight, fat burning was high on my hitlist.

However, weight training complements my other exercises well. I run and take dance classes so I get quite a bit of cardio work. Weight training builds strength and gives my body some muscle definition.

Running and dancing build strength in the lower body but there is very little upper body work. When I do weight training I focus on my upper body.

So this week, weights are my small weekly pleasure.

IMG_2221.JPG

