My first detox

This is my first blog post in a very long time.

I haven’t had anything to post about…. Until now!!!!

Unfortunately I injured my back about a month ago. After a lot of pain killers, anti-inflammatories and physiotherapists sessions my lower back is still hurting.

Due to the fact that I have taken a lot of medication and my over indulgence over the Christmas and New Year period, I decided to put myself on a detox. Pain killers, anti-inflammatories, alcohol and rich food put a load on the pancreas, liver etc. So I have been told.

Firstly I searched for information regarding detoxs. I found out that I needed to drink fruit/vegetable juice and plenty of water. That I might experience headaches, nausea or dizziness. I also needed to buy a juicer.

Well I purchased the best juicer that I could afford. A cold press juicer, which extracts the most amount of juice compared with all the others.

I selected the 2 Jan as the start of my detox. I’ve learnt that detoxs are usually done over 3 days but since it was my first detox I would be happy if I lasted 24 hours.

I selected my juicing recipes and bought the ingredients. Apples, oranges, blueberries, lemons, ginger, cucumber, carrots, mint,  spinach, celery, kale …. Just to name a few.

 

Breakfast was a green detox juice with green apples, lemon, ginger, cucumber, spinach and kale. It was quite tasty. The sweetness of the apples made the other incredients palatable.

Morning tea was orange, carrot and ginger – this was my favourite.

Lunch was a multi vitamin juice of tomatoes, carrots, celery, kale, spinach and parsley. By this time I was feeling a little nauseous.

Afternoon tea was blueberries and mint (yum). By 5pm I had a caffeine withdrawal headache. I caved in and had a coffee. By 7pm I just couldn’t go on. I had pizza for dinner!! So much for my will power. I didn’t even last a day.

I will probably try this again and hopefully next time I will last a bit longer.

