Chicken Teriyaki

A quick to prepare and very tasty dinner. Even my kids like this dinner.

In total there are 1920 calories (8033 kjs). I prepare this dinner for my family so it gets divided by 6. Per person it is 320 calories (1348 kjs).

Ingredients

600g chicken cut into small pieces
1 onion sliced
2 cloves of garlic finely chopped
1 large carrot
1 bunch of brocolli
2 sticks of celery
1 cup of snow peas
1 tomato

Teriyaki sauce

1/3 cup of soy sauce
1/3 cup of water
1/3 cup of honey
2 cm piece of ginger finely chopped
2 tbsp of flour

The sauce gets made first. Put all ingredients into a saucepan on a med-high heat. Stir with a wooden spoon and when the sauce begins to bubble, turn the heat down to low. Simmer for 5 minutes and then remove from the heat and set aside.

Put some peanut oil in a frying pan. Cook the onion and garlic on a medium heat until the onion begins to caramelise. Add the chicken to the frying pan and cook until it turns white. Add the remaining ingredients and the teriyaki sauce. Simmer until the carrots and celery have softened.

It makes me so happy when I can cook a healthy dinner that my kids like. My small weekly pleasure

IMG_2693